Haute Looks: Golden Globes 2011

Get the low down on who looked haute and who did not at this year’s Golden Globe Awards with HAUTE NYC’s own Magen Martin.

 

Awards season 2011 started off with a bang. The Golden Globes were a heavenly fashion event. Here is a quick roundup of my favorite and least favorite ensembles of the night.

 

It seems emerald green was the haute color of the night but it really didn’t do much for me. The green dress on Mila Kunis in Vera Wang looked a little “old”, she could have used her sex appeal more and dressed a bit more on the sexy side. Hopefully at the next award show she will get it right. I do admit Catherine Zeta Jones looks fabulous in her Monique L’Huillier ball gown style dress, the detail of the fabric make her look like the princess of the red carpet.  The 80s, shoulder pads, sequins and all, inspired Angelina Jolie’s red carpet look. Though I wasn’t 100% convinced by her look it was not one of the worst of the night, Versace Altier did a mediocre job.

 

Now on to my favorite looks of the nights. Lea Michele from Glee looked absolutely flawless in her Oscar de la Renta salmon colored silk one-shoulder gown with ruffle detail, from the Spring/Summer 2011 collection. She donned Lorraine Schwartz jewels, a Judith Leiber clutch, and silver Christian Louboutin Pigalili shoes. She can do no wrong in this dress; Lea Michele is a red carpet goddess. Whoever her stylist is, definitely deserves a raise.

Red carpet veterans Halle Berry and Jennifer Lopez must have not looked in the mirror before leaving their house. Halle Berry tried a bit too much to be sexy in her black Nina Ricci dress. I would have much rather the dress not be short with the sheer layer on top, it would have looked better all the same length. Oh J.Lo, what were you thinking! Though her makeup and overall look was flawless, the dress was just wrong. White looks great on her tanned skin but the beaded poncho ruined the Zuhair Murad dress. I don’t know about you but I expect a lot more from these red carpet divas.


Overall the Golden Globes fashion was both entertaining and inspiring. Can’t wait to see what celebrity stylists have up their sleeves for the upcoming award shows!

 

Article By: Magen Martin

 

 

5 Responses to Haute Looks: Golden Globes 2011

  1. Erika says:

    I totally agree with your picks! I thought the same thing about Angelina’s dress….can we say DYNASTY!? I wasn’t a fan of Halle’s dress, either. But I thought she WORE that dress. She looked great. Unlike January Jones, who also wore a skimpy/revealing dress…. It looked hideous on her. Lea looked beautiful and so did Eva. I wasn’t a fan of Natalie’s dress, but again, I thought she looked gorgeous (her hair, makeup, etc). 🙂 Nice WORK magen! I am really enjoying all your posts!!!!

  2. Melanie says:

    Ok, Catherine Z Jones is stunning. I also really love Jay Lo’s look.

  3. LvD says:

    I loved the rich jewel tone hues worn by Mila, CZJ & Angelina – Angelina’s dress was amazing but I don’t think the dress itself fitted her bodyframe. I’m surprised you didn’t have Annie Hathaway’s look here too – I loved her dress. This is a great post and I look forward to the rest of your award season coverage.

    Lola

  4. Denise arnold says:

    I love this article. Great pic of green for the night. I agree with all of Megan’s choices though I did like JLo’s shoulder cover. The article itself is well written, researched, and detailed. I look forward to following Megan’s articles!

    Denise

  5. Jenni says:

    Angelina Jolie looks fantastic. That color looks great on her.

Leave a Reply

