A Haute Minute: Stacy Igel of Boy Meets Girl USA®

Stacy Igel, designer of Boy Meets Girl USA® is a fashion maven with a keen eye for style. Get to know Stacy’s style in a Haute Minute, but be sure to check out my full article on frockOn.com!

HAUTE NYC: For people who may not be familiar with your brand, Boy Meets Girl USA, what inspiration behind starting the brand?
 

Stacy Igel: The first time I met my husband’s parents was for dinner at their apartment.  While they were giving me the tour, I noticed a picture frame containing silhouettes of their three children from when they were younger.  My parents had a similar picture of my sister and I from when we were about the same age.  I thought about us and how we still both had these young, playful, carefree versions of ourselves inside of us and I knew right then and there my brand would be called Boy Meets Girl® and that I’d use our silhouettes for the logo. Boy Meets Girl® is edgy yet wearable, fun and flirty yet casually classic. I wanted to create a collection that would appeal to a confident, playful kind of girl… the kind of girl who likes to laugh and doesn’t take herself too seriously.

 

HAUTE NYC:  How would you describe your signature style and who would you consider to be your style icons? Why?


Stacy Igel:
My Signature Style: I like to think its eclectic, edgy, and demure all rolled into one neat little package.
My Style Icons: I’m going to give you my holy trinity of influences.  First, Coco Chanel, who famously said “Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”  I agree. I think that’s why I am so happy working as hard as I do.  Second, Kate Moss.  Of course she’s a beautiful and confident woman, but what I love about her is the way she effortlessly transitions from eclectic vintage to high fashion.  She never looks like she’s trying to put an outfit together – everything looks like it just naturally belongs on her body.  Third, Patti Smith.  She’s stayed true to her edgy stylishness since the 70s.  She’s unflappable.

HAUTE NYC: Fashion Week is right around the corner! What can you reveal to readers about the upcoming Spring/Summer 2011 collection? What is your favorite part of Fashion Week?

Stacy Igel: My favorite part of fashion week is the feeling of putting all the pieces of the puzzle together( styling the looks, picking the models, selecting the music, working with hair and makeup stylists etc). Working with my team to bring you the best show each season is my goal. This year will be my first every SOLO show in New York City.

 

Article by: Angela Samartano

@HAUTENYC

2 Responses to A Haute Minute: Stacy Igel of Boy Meets Girl USA®

  1. nice blog! hope you will become a follower of my blog too 🙂 I’d really appreciate it.
    x

  2. Pingback: Haute Looks: Boy Meets Girl USA Fall 2011 Presentation « HAUTE NYC

Leave a Reply

