A Haute Minute: Italian designer Pamela Quinzi

Recently, I had the pleasure of visiting the Chelsea style house of Italian born fashion designer, Pamela Quinzi. Pamela was such a gracious hostess, letting us play dress up with all her gorgeous shoes and dresses. She revealed how she has only been living in New York for only a year, but is infatuated with the city. Born in Rome, Italy, Pamela moved to Milan after high school to study in Europe’s most prestigious fashion university, ISTITUTO MARANGONI.

When asked about her feelings on New York, Pamela replied, “After 10 minutes in Time Square, I knew I had to live in New York! This city bring to my life so much energy every day and inspires my work. I spent the summer in Manhattan and I returned to Italy to pack up my apartment.”

HAUTE NYC: How did your passion for fashion design begin?

Pamela: I really think I was born to be a fashion designer. haha Since I was very young, at the age of 4 years old, I started to designs dresses and shoes. I still have a book that my mom did for me collecting all my small sketches!

 

 

HAUTE NYC: Where do you draw inspiration from your designs? Does your own style have any influence on your creative mind?

Pamela: I love the history of fashion. My style reminds me of the baroque allure; all the embroidery, lace, crystals, and the feeling to be a princess! But now, I am a  New York pop princess!

HAUTE NYC: Where can we find Pamela Quinzi designs? What are your plans as a designer for the upcoming year?

Pamela: Right now, I feel very lucky because you can find Pamela Quinzi Design in one of the most fashionable and trendy shops in Manhattan, MODALISTAS, located at the Limelight Market on 6avenue and 21st street! I’m also planning to sell my collection online very soon! I will have more fashion show to promote myself in NY and in Italy! My collection doesn’t really have a season. They are unique pieces, handmade art creations. At least, I like to call theme like that!

 

For more of my interview with Pamela Quinzi, check out frockOn.com

Check out Pamela’s design page – www.pamelaquinzidesign.com

Article & Photos by: Angela Samartano

Leave a comment